//
the full spiel...
Anything

Start

I decided several weeks ago that I would like to start keeping a blog. And as several weeks passed, the only thing keeping me from writing any posts was the fact that I hadn’t written this post, my first post. In my desire to have a good start, I was neglecting to start at all. But here we go, my first post.

I’ve been out of school for about 9 months now. And by now, I’ve realized that I’m going to have to be a bit more proactive if anything is going to get done in life. I’ve been passively accruing knowledge and opinions about architecture, and I think this blog will give me a chance to formalize things. I would like this blog to be a catalog of my continuing education as an architect. It will be just as much for me as it will be for anyone who may happen upon it. I plan on writing regularly with posts on topics such as:

  • My own architectural thoughts (Musings)
  • Famous architects, dead and alive
  • Famous buildings, old and new
  • Projects I’m working on, professionally and independently
  • Architectural firms and schools that I find interesting
  • Reports on different architectural styles
  • Conceptual ideas
  • Reports on architecture in different cities or regions
  • Random architectural things I’m up to
  • And probably lots of other stuff

I’m also constantly coming across items that are written by others or are posted on other architecture blogs. I’d like to find a way to share that as well. I’m not quite sure how it will happen yet, but it might get worked in with twitter. I’d like to keep this blog dedicated to content I myself put together, as often times I come across blogs that are muddled in endless re-posts. We can’t all do that, we’d run out. So I’m still figuring that one out.

And finally a disclaimer. I’m an architect, I really like architecture. I’ve never been much of a writer, so don’t get too tangled up in the possibly blatant grammatical errors. I’ll try my best, but I don’t want to spend exorbitant amounts of time making sure my posts sound really great. I’ve got way too many other projects to work on, Freakin’ Architecture.

About bjmcghee

Architect in training.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Hmmm?

